19. All that�s left

9:43 p.m. & Wednesday, May. 31, 2006


�Wow, you have such a beautiful dog.�
�Thank you.�
�Hahha, yes. It looks as though mine�s getting reasonably jealous in the car over there.�
[Points to the car where my puppy peers enviously through the passenger side window]
�Well, I�d best be off. Bye�
[Walks over to car before the scary man decides to enact in more of a conversation]
�What�s your dog�s name?� He screams out before I get a chance to finish unlocking the car door.
Shocked at his question and the fact that he�s all too soon standing by the passenger door, I reply as quickly as possible. �Chewy.�
�And what�s your name?�
�Jessica.�
�Well, it was lovely meeting you, Jessica.�
�Yes, you too.�
[Relieved that he was walking in the opposite direction to which I was heading, I started up the car and set the navigation system to home. Not even 30 seconds later he returns to the passenger side window and starts tapping on the glass. I double check that my doors are locked and wind down the window ever so slightly.]
�Are you free to go out for coffee sometime?�
�Oh, no. I couldn�t.. sorry.�
�That�s fine. You have a beautiful evening, Jessica.�
[And he walked away.. leaving me to myself.]

I felt bad, because he seemed like a really nice person. Just, evidently not for me. I hate not giving people a chance. I made that mistake with Blake, and he�s dead now.

All that�s left is me. And I�m a prisoner in my own mind.. which isn�t all too often a good thing.


I want to remember What takes a lifetime to forget